TS 16949 / IATF 16949 aligns with current ISO 9001, as a fee based prescriptive specification to the automotive industry. IATF 16949 fuses requirements from USA QS-9000, Italian AVQS, French EAQF, and German VDA 6.1.

In addition to TS 16949 requirements each automaker adds its own customer specific requirements that can not be harmonized due to interpretation and specific given of each OEM. Inquire in AIAG the TE (tooling and equipment) supplement to add, when applicable.

To obtain current IATF 16949 contact the AIAG.

ISO and the international automotive industry has published current TS 16949, which specifies quality system requirements for suppliers within the automotive industry sector. ISO/TS 16949 is required by most Automotive OEMs. The inclusion of the 2015 version of ISO 9001 is dependent to the automotive sector group.

The agreement for releasing the current version of IATF 16949 involves the participation of individual OEM members of the IATF and whether it brings benefits to the industry. IATF includes DaimlerChrysler, General Motors, Ford, Fiat, Peugeot, CitroŽn, Renault, BMW and Volkswagen. The release of TS 16949 now invokes requirements to the respective supply bases for OEMs of the automotive sector, specifically to Tier 1 suppliers. Tier 2, Tier 3 and others are open to acquire QMS ISO 9001, and may consider ISO 9001 certification with Reference to TS 16949 - this provides for QMS ISO 9001 certification and readiness to advance to ISO/TS 16949 if and when necessary.

    Note - Consideration will be given to your organization's role within the automotive supply chain (relevant to Tier 1, Tier 2, Tier 3).

IATF 16949 fuses many automotive industry sector requirements (including QS-9000 with VDA 6.1, AVQS, EAQF) into one International Standard.

IATF 16949, first edition published in November 1999, is a ISO 9001 variant applicable for the (global) automotive industry. Now the same applies under (ISO/)TS 16949.

    Note: IATF 16949 registrars needs accreditation through a scheme under administration by the "International Oversight Bureau (IAOB)".

TS 16949 is equally acceptable by the US, European and Asian automotive OEM producing community.

The "IAOB" in part of the International Task Force (oversight office). Its membership includes; DaimlerChrysler, Ford, General Motors, the European Automotive industry, and the Automotive Industry Action Group. The IAOB responsibilities include:

Implement and manage ISO/TS - IATF 16949 registration scheme activities

    • Ensure global application/interpretative consistency of ISO/TS 16949 Development and maintenance of a central database of information

For a list of certification bodies and registrars visit our page of Registrars.

TS 16949 fuses the European variants of ISO 9001 VDA 6.1 (German), AVQS (Italian) and EAQF (French) and former US Automotive QS-9000 . ISO/TS 16949 format-structure is to follow Annex SL. And whether VDA 6.1 follows Annex SL is dependent on the German Auto makers, yet still carrying its key requirements that includes:

    • PPAP
    • MSA
    • SPC
    • QSA / TS-QSACL
    • APQP
    • FMEA

Internationally, TS 16949 document is available for purchase through the International Automotive Task Force (IATF), and in the USA through the Automotive Action Group AIAG web site.



IATF 16949Back to Home Portal...